Connect with us


JUSTIN: Akpabio Emerges Senate President-Elect



Godswill Akpabio, a former governor of Akwa Ibom State, has been elected as the 10th Assembly’s Senate President.

Akpabio, the All Progressives Congress’s chosen candidate, was paired with Jibrin Barau, a senator from Kano South who won the position of Deputy Senate President.

READ ALSO: Tinubu Signs Students Loan Bill

While the former governor of Zamfara, Abdulaziz Yari, is running as the Chief Whip of the ninth Senate, Orji Kalu, is running as deputy.

Against the announced time of 10 a.m., the election started before 9 a.m.

Sani Tambuwal, the Clerk of the National Assembly, is in the Senate Chamber and is presiding over the session. The clerk has called for nominations.

The senator-elect for Borno South, Ali Ndume, nominated Godswill Akpabio, senator-elect for Akwa Ibom North-East, as president of the Senate. Akpabio accepted the nomination. While Elisha Abbo, senator-elect for Adamawa North, nominated Abdulaziz Yari, senator-elect for Zamfara West.

The senators objected that Yari, a first-time senator, was not permitted to run for office.

Two members from each team arrived to count the ballots after the legislators cast them alphabetically.

Senators Adeola Solomon and Ndume showed up to speak on behalf of Senator Akpabio, while Senator Yari was represented by Abbo and Jimoh Ibrahim, the senator-elect for the Ondo South Senatorial District.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


© 2023 Objectv Media. All rights reserved.